Arts and humanities programs in Canada, ranked by admission average
294 programs at 43 universities, each on its own page. Ranked by the average each school publishes: the top of its range, or its minimum.
Which arts and humanities programs ask for the highest average?
Each school's own published average or minimum, in its own words. Entering average: the official fall 2022 average of first-year students in the program group that holds this field at that school (Common University Data Ontario), not of the one program.
| Rank | Program | School says | Entering average at the school | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Humanities (St. George campus)Toronto, Ontario | Low to mid 80s | 88.4% | $6,100 |
| 2 | Media and Communication StudiesWestern, Ontario | Low to mid 80s | 89.1% | $6,171 |
| 3 | ArtsQueen's, Ontario | Low 80s | 89.8% | $6,205 |
| 4 | Arts & HumanitiesWestern, Ontario | Low 80s | 89.1% | $6,171 |
| 5 | Arts Degree + Master of Business AdministrationLaurier, Ontario | Low 80s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 6 | School for Advanced Studies in Arts & Humanities (SASAH)Western, Ontario | Low 80s | 89.1% | $6,171 |
| 7 | Humanities (Great Books) (BHum)Carleton, Ontario | 80-82% | 84.1% | $6,544 |
| 8 | Humanities and Biology (BHum)Carleton, Ontario | 80-82% | 84.1% | $6,544 |
| 9 | Journalism (BJ)Carleton, Ontario | 78-82% | 84.1% | $6,544 |
| 10 | Journalism and Humanities (BJHum)Carleton, Ontario | 80-82% | 84.1% | $6,544 |
| 11 | Journalism with a Concentration in Health Sciences (BJ)Carleton, Ontario | 78-82% | 84.1% | $6,544 |
| 12 | Applied LinguisticsUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 13 | Art HistoryGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 14 | Arts AdministrationBishop's, Quebec · 5 tracks, all on Bishop's's page | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 15 | Classical and Modern CulturesGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 16 | Classical StudiesBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 17 | Creative WritingGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 18 | Creative Writing (Bachelor of Creative Arts, Health and Wellness)Guelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 19 | Culture and Technology StudiesGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 20 | Divisional Major in HumanitiesBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 21 | EnglishGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 22 | EnglishUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 23 | EnglishBishop's, Quebec · 2 tracks, all on Bishop's's page | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 24 | Études de la langue française et des cultures francophonesBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 25 | French and Francophone StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 26 | French as a Second LanguageBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 27 | French StudiesGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 28 | Gender StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 29 | Germanic StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 30 | Greek and Latin Language and LiteratureUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 31 | Greek and Roman StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 32 | Hispanic StudiesBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 33 | Hispanic StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 34 | HistoryGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 35 | HistoryUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 36 | History and Global StudiesBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 37 | Humanities (Undecided)UVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 38 | Indigenous StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 39 | Latin American StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 40 | Liberal ArtsBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 41 | LinguisticsUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 42 | Media StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 43 | Medieval StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 44 | Modern LanguagesBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 45 | Pacific and Asian StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 46 | PhilosophyBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 47 | PhilosophyGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 48 | PhilosophyUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 49 | Religion, Culture and SocietyUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 50 | Religion, Society and CultureBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 51 | Sexualities, Genders and Social ChangeGuelph, Ontario | 75-80% | 87.4% | $6,213 |
| 52 | Slavic StudiesUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 80% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 53 | Art HistoryUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | Not published |
| 54 | Arts Degree + Law Degree, University of SussexLaurier, Ontario | High 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 55 | Arts Degree + Master's DegreeLaurier, Ontario | High 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 56 | Arts Degree + Master's Degree, Cardiff UniversityLaurier, Ontario | High 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 57 | Arts Degree + Master's Degree, University of SussexLaurier, Ontario | High 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 58 | Communication, Culture, Information and TechnologyToronto, Ontario | Mid to high 70s | 88.4% | $6,100 |
| 59 | EnglishUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 60 | Film Studies (BA)UCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 61 | Film Studies (BFS)UCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 62 | FrenchUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 63 | HistoryUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 64 | Honours ArtsWaterloo, Ontario | High 70s | 88.4% | $6,250 |
| 65 | Honours Arts and BusinessWaterloo, Ontario | High 70s | 88.4% | $6,250 |
| 66 | Humanities (U of T Mississauga)Toronto, Ontario | Mid to high 70s; mid 70s (Logic) | 88.4% | $6,100 |
| 67 | Language and CultureUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | Not published |
| 68 | LinguisticsUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 69 | Linguistics and LanguageUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 70 | PhilosophyUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, most Arts programs: 79% | Ontario only | $7,388 |
| 71 | Linguistics (BSc)Carleton, Ontario | 78% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 72 | African StudiesYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 73 | Ancient StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 74 | Archaeology and Heritage StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 75 | Arts LeadershipBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 76 | Canadian StudiesBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 77 | ClassicsBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 78 | Communication StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 79 | Creative WritingYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 80 | Cultural StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 81 | EnglishLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 82 | EnglishYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 83 | English & Professional WritingYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 84 | English Language and LiteratureBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 85 | Ethics and Political PhilosophyYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 86 | Film StudiesBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 87 | Film StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 88 | Film Studies + Vancouver Film School DiplomaLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 89 | FrenchLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 90 | French Studies (Glendon Campus)York, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 91 | French Studies (Keele Campus)York, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 92 | General HumanitiesBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 93 | HistoryBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 94 | HistoryYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 95 | History (Brantford)Laurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 96 | History (Waterloo)Laurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 97 | HumanitiesYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 98 | Indigenous StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 99 | Indigenous StudiesYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 100 | Journalism (joint program with Centennial College)Toronto, Ontario | Mid-70s overall | 88.4% | $6,100 |
| 101 | LanguagesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 102 | LinguisticsYork, Ontario | Mid-70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 103 | Linguistics, Language and SocietyYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 104 | Medieval and Medievalism StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 105 | Medieval and Renaissance StudiesBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 106 | Modern Languages (French Studies, Hispanic and Latin American Studies, Italian Studies)Brock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 107 | North American StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 108 | PhilosophyBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 83.1% | $6,211 |
| 109 | PhilosophyLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 110 | PhilosophyYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 111 | Philosophy of LawYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 112 | Professional TranslationYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 113 | Professional WritingYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 114 | Religion and CultureLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op) | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 115 | SpanishLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 116 | Speech & Language SciencesYork, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 117 | Undeclared Major (Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies)York, Ontario | Low-to-mid 70s or higher | 83.5% | $6,240 |
| 118 | Applied Linguistics and Discourse StudiesCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 119 | Art HistoryCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 120 | Arts / Computer Science (concurrent BA/BCS)UNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 75%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | Not published |
| 121 | Arts / Leadership Studies (concurrent BA/BPhil)UNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 75%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | Not published |
| 122 | Arts / Science (concurrent BA/BSc)UNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 75%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | Not published |
| 123 | Arts and Contemporary StudiesTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 124 | Creative IndustriesTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 125 | EnglishCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 126 | EnglishTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 127 | Film StudiesCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 128 | FrenchCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 129 | Greek and Roman StudiesCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 130 | HistoryCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 131 | HistoryTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 132 | History and Theory of ArchitectureCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 133 | Honours BA CommunicationOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 134 | Honours BA EnglishOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 135 | Honours BA Ethics and Political PhilosophyOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 136 | Honours BA HistoryOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 137 | Honours BA LinguisticsOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 138 | Honours BA PhilosophyOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 139 | Honours BA Second Language TeachingOttawa, Ontario · 2 tracks, all on Ottawa's page | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 140 | Honours Bachelor of Public RelationsOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 141 | Joint Honours BA in Communication and Political ScienceOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 142 | Joint Honours BA in Communication and SociologyOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 143 | Joint Honours BA in History and Political ScienceOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 144 | Joint Honours BA in Philosophy and Political ScienceOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 145 | JournalismTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,348 |
| 146 | Language and Intercultural RelationsTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 147 | Linguistics (BA)Carleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 148 | Major in Art HistoryOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 149 | Major in English Language StudiesOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 150 | Major in French as a Second Language (FLS)Ottawa, Ontario | 75% minimum | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 151 | Major in Indigenous StudiesOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 152 | Major in World Languages and CulturesOttawa, Ontario | 75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program) | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 153 | PhilosophyCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 154 | PhilosophyTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 155 | Professional CommunicationTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 156 | ReligionCarleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 157 | Undeclared (BA)Carleton, Ontario | 75% | 84.1% | $6,188 |
| 158 | Undeclared Arts (First-Year Studies Only)TMU, Ontario | 70-75% | 85% | $6,233 |
| 159 | Artificial Intelligence for Professional CommunicatorsOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | 79% | $6,102 |
| 160 | Arts: GeneralOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | 79% | $6,102 |
| 161 | B.A. spécialisé bidisciplinaire en communication et lettres françaisesOttawa, Ontario | 73% minimum | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 162 | B.A. spécialisé Lettres françaisesOttawa, Ontario | 73% minimum | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 163 | Baccalauréat spécialisé en journalisme numériqueOttawa, Ontario | 73% minimum | 85.4% | $6,210 |
| 164 | Communication and Digital Media StudiesOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | 79% | $6,102 |
| 165 | Creativity, Digital Arts and Entertainment IndustriesOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | 79% | $6,102 |
| 166 | Faith and CommunityLaurier, Ontario | Minimum admission range of low 70s; competitive admission range of low 80s | 83.3% | $6,180 |
| 167 | Strategic Communication, Social Media and SocietyOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | 79% | $6,102 |
| 168 | Video Games, Creative Industries and Society (Bachelor of Arts)Ontario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | 79% | $6,102 |
| 169 | Ancient Greek & Roman StudiesTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 170 | AnglaisMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 171 | Applied Arts in JournalismUPEI, Prince Edward Island | Minimum overall average 70%; no published cut-off | Ontario only | $8,130 |
| 172 | ArtsDalhousie, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $9,030 |
| 173 | ArtsUPEI, Prince Edward Island | Minimum overall average 70%; no published cut-off | Ontario only | $8,130 |
| 174 | Arts (Honours)Trent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement) | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 175 | Bachelor of ArtsMemorial, Newfoundland and Labrador | Minimum overall average 70% (general admission) | Ontario only | $6,750 |
| 176 | Bachelor of ArtsSaint Mary's, Nova Scotia | Minimum 70% average in the five required courses, no mark below 60%; no published cut-off | Ontario only | $9,070 |
| 177 | Bachelor of Arts (Grenfell Campus)Memorial, Newfoundland and Labrador | Minimum overall average 70% (general admission) | Ontario only | $6,750 |
| 178 | Bachelor of ArtsMRU, Alberta · 3 tracks, all on MRU's page | Competitive average range for Fall 2027 applicants (two best Group A courses): 65 to 70% | Ontario only | $7,044 |
| 179 | Canadian StudiesAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 180 | Classical and Medieval StudiesURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 181 | Classical StudiesAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 182 | Communication, Media & FilmWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English | 84% | $5,916 |
| 183 | CommunicationsTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 184 | Cree, Saulteaux, and/or LinguisticsURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 185 | Cultural StudiesTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 186 | EnglishAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 187 | EnglishLakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 84.5% | $6,104 |
| 188 | EnglishURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 189 | English (Creative Writing)URegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 190 | English and Creative WritingWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70% | 84% | $5,916 |
| 191 | English Language and LiteratureWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English | 84% | $5,916 |
| 192 | English LiteratureTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 193 | English Literature, Media, and WritingLaurentian, Ontario | A minimum overall average of 70% in the 6 best grade 12 U/M courses | 84% | $6,120 |
| 194 | English StudiesNipissing, Ontario | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | 82.9% | $6,138 |
| 195 | Études en communication et médias numériquesUOF, Ontario | Moyenne minimale exigee de 70% dans six cours de niveau 4U ou 4M | Not reported | $6,222 |
| 196 | Études françaises (linguistique, littérature ou mixte)Moncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 197 | FrenchAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 198 | French & Canadian StudiesTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement) | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 199 | French as a Second LanguageLaurentian, Ontario | A minimum overall average of 70% in the 6 best grade 12 U/M courses | 84% | $6,120 |
| 200 | French StudiesTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 201 | French StudiesWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English; mean average of entering students 80% | 84% | $5,916 |
| 202 | General ArtsLakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 84.5% | $6,104 |
| 203 | GermanAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 204 | HistoireMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 205 | HistoryAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 206 | HistoryLakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 84.5% | $6,104 |
| 207 | HistoryLaurentian, Ontario | A minimum overall average of 70% in the 6 best grade 12 U/M courses | 84% | $6,120 |
| 208 | HistoryNipissing, Ontario | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | 82.9% | $6,138 |
| 209 | HistoryURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 210 | HistoryTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 211 | HistoryWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English; mean average of entering students 84.5% | 84% | $5,916 |
| 212 | Indigenous Journalism and Communication ArtsURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 213 | Indigenous Language ReclamationURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 214 | Indigenous StudiesURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 215 | Information-communicationMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 216 | Journalism & Creative WritingTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement) | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 217 | Journalism, News Media, and CommunicationURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 218 | Languages (French)Lakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 84.5% | $6,104 |
| 219 | Media StudiesTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 220 | Media, Film and CommunicationsLakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 84.5% | $6,104 |
| 221 | Modern Languages with Year AbroadWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70% | 84% | $5,916 |
| 222 | PhilosophieMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 223 | PhilosophyAcadia, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $10,986 |
| 224 | PhilosophyLakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 84.5% | $6,104 |
| 225 | PhilosophyNipissing, Ontario | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | 82.9% | $6,138 |
| 226 | PhilosophyURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 227 | PhilosophyTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80% | 83.8% | $6,241 |
| 228 | PhilosophyWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English | 84% | $5,916 |
| 229 | Religious StudiesURegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses); applicants with 60.00 to 69.99% and all required subjects are admitted as Arts Qualifying students | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 230 | Second Language EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70% | 84% | $5,916 |
| 231 | TraductionMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 232 | ClassicsConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 233 | Creative WritingConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 234 | English and HistoryConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 235 | English LiteratureConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 236 | Études françaisesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 237 | HistoryConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 238 | Irish StudiesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 239 | ItalianConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 240 | Judaic StudiesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 241 | Liberal ArtsConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 242 | LinguisticsConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 243 | PhilosophyConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 244 | Religions and CulturesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 245 | Southern Asia StudiesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 246 | Spanish, Hispanic Cultures and LiteraturesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 247 | Theological StudiesConcordia, Quebec | High school: C+ (Ontario 67 to 69% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 248 | Anishinaabe StudiesAlgoma, Ontario | Min. Avg. 65% | Not reported | $5,982 |
| 249 | Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe Language)Algoma, Ontario | Min. Avg. 65% | Not reported | $5,982 |
| 250 | ArtsUNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 65%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | $9,189 |
| 251 | Arts (Saint John)UNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 65%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | $9,189 |
| 252 | Communication StudiesMacEwan, Alberta · 3 tracks, all on MacEwan's page | No average range published; 65% overall (no course under 50%) is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $8,790 |
| 253 | EnglishAlgoma, Ontario | Min. Avg. 65% | Not reported | $5,982 |
| 254 | EnglishULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 255 | EnglishMacEwan, Alberta | No average range published; 65% overall (no course under 50%) is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,420 |
| 256 | EnglishUNBC, British Columbia | Minimum 65% average (English 12 plus four more Grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,231 |
| 257 | FrenchULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 258 | French and Francophone Intercultural StudiesURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required; a French Placement Test is required | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 259 | French as a Second LanguageURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required; a French Placement Test is required | Ontario only | $8,385 |
| 260 | French/SpanishULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 261 | HistoryAlgoma, Ontario | Min. Avg. 65% | Not reported | $5,982 |
| 262 | HistoryULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 263 | HistoryMacEwan, Alberta | No average range published; 65% overall (no course under 50%) is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,420 |
| 264 | HistoryUNBC, British Columbia | Minimum 65% average (English 12 plus four more Grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,231 |
| 265 | PhilosophyULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 266 | PhilosophyMacEwan, Alberta | No average range published; 65% overall (no course under 50%) is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,420 |
| 267 | Religious StudiesULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| ArtsUBC, British Columbia | No average published; 70% overall is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,201 | |
| ArtsUBCO, British Columbia | No average published; 67% overall is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,201 | |
| Baccalauréat 4 ans en arts et lettresUdeM, Quebec | No average published for Ontario applicants | Ontario only | $9,730 | |
| Bachelor of ArtsMount Allison, New Brunswick | Entering average 87.8% (fall 2023 BA (Bachelor of Arts) entrants); no published cut-off; 65% minimum in each course counted | Ontario only | $11,350 | |
| Bachelor of Arts, GeneralGuelph, Ontario | No average published | 87.4% | $6,213 | |
| Bachelor of Arts, General ProgramTRU, British Columbia | No admission average published: open admission with Grade 12 graduation and English 12 (ENG4U) at 73% or more | Ontario only | $4,953 | |
| Bachelor of Arts, Major in EnglishTRU, British Columbia | No admission average published: open admission with Grade 12 graduation and English 12 (ENG4U) at 73% or more | Ontario only | $4,953 | |
| Bachelor of Arts, Major in HistoryTRU, British Columbia | No admission average published: open admission with Grade 12 graduation and English 12 (ENG4U) at 73% or more | Ontario only | $4,953 | |
| Bachelor of Arts, Major in PhilosophyTRU, British Columbia | No admission average published: open admission with Grade 12 graduation and English 12 (ENG4U) at 73% or more | Ontario only | $4,953 | |
| Bachelor of Arts, UndeclaredGuelph, Ontario | No average published | 87.4% | $6,213 | |
| Bachelor of Communication and Digital JournalismTRU, British Columbia | No admission average published: open admission with Grade 12 graduation and English 12 (ENG4U) at 73% or more | Ontario only | $4,953 | |
| Humanities IMcMaster, Ontario | No average published | 89.4% | $6,043 | |
| Huron ArtsWestern, Ontario | No average published | 89.1% | $6,171 | |
| King's ArtsWestern, Ontario | No average published | 89.1% | $6,171 | |
| TheologyMcGill, Quebec | Not printed | Ontario only | $12,986 | |
| TraductionConcordia, Quebec | High school: Specialization: B- | Major: C+ | Ontario only | $12,986 | |
| Visual and Critical StudiesOCAD U, Ontario | Minimum overall average of 70% | Not reported | $6,170 |
What Grade 12 courses do you need for arts and humanities?
Counted across the 281 arts and humanities programs that list their courses. "Required" means the program names the course outright; "one of" means it appears in a choice.
| Course | Required by | One of a choice at |
|---|---|---|
| ENG4UEnglish | 80% of programs | 15% of programs |
| FRA4UFrançais | 10% of programs | 9% of programs |
| EAE4UEnglish (EAE4U) | 9% of programs | 7% of programs |
| ETS4UStudies in Literature | 4% of programs | 1% of programs |
| NBE4UGrade 12 course | None | 6% of programs |
| FSF4UCore French | 1% of programs | 2% of programs |
| MHF4UAdvanced Functions | 1% of programs | 1% of programs |
| ENG4CEnglish (college) | 2% of programs | None |
| FEF4UExtended French | 1% of programs | 2% of programs |
| FIF4UFrench Immersion | 1% of programs | 2% of programs |
| SCH4UChemistry | 0% of programs | 1% of programs |
| EWC4UThe Writer's Craft | 0% of programs | 1% of programs |
Picking Grade 12 courses? Keep every course in the top rows, and check the program pages above for the exact list and minimum marks. The finder checks your courses against every program.
What careers do arts and humanities programs lead to?
- LawyerSeven years of school, a licensing year, then anything from legal aid to Bay Street.$124kTypical pay7 to 8 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- JournalistYou find out what happened, check it, and tell people clearly and fast.$77kTypical pay2 to 4 yearsTo qualifyLimitedDemand
- AuthorYou write books and long pieces for a living, usually alongside other writing work that pays the bills.$77kTypical payup to 4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
Other fields in Canada
- Computer science
- Engineering
- Business
- Nursing
- Health sciences
- Life sciences
- Math and physics
- Social sciences
- Education
- Fine arts
- Architecture
- Undecided
Or every university on its own page: the full list.