Careerhelp

Arts and humanities: every university, ranked

English Studies at Nipissing University

BA (Bachelor of Arts) · Faculty of Arts and Science · North Bay campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for Nipissing English Studies?

The school says
Minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
A minimum, not a typical admitted average
Entering average in this program group
82.9%
Liberal arts, general studies and humanities at Nipissing, first-year students from Ontario high schools, fall 2022; 25% came in at 90 or above. Official figure (Common University Data Ontario) for the whole group, not only this program.
Length and co-op
Not stated
Co-op: No

Majors or options chosen later: Honours Specialization, Specialization, Major, Concurrent Education option with Honours Specialization.

What courses do you need?

Grade 12 courses the school requires, as its page lists them.

Required
  • ENG4U English

What else each course keeps open: ENG4U

How much does Nipissing English Studies cost?

For a student from Ontario, at this year's prices. Food after first year, transit and personal spending are left out.

Tuition, first year
$6,138
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$15,700
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$6,100 first year
Student fees
$1,300 first year
Residence and meals
$8,300 first yearFirst year

What do arts and humanities graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$41,700
Five years after graduating
$60,500

What careers does Nipissing English Studies lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study arts and humanities?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
African StudiesYork, OntarioLow-to-mid 70s or higher$6,240
Ancient Greek & Roman StudiesTrent, OntarioMinimum 70% overall average (Trent general requirement); co-op stream minimum 80%$6,241
Ancient StudiesLaurier, OntarioMid 70s (no co-op); low 80s (with co-op)$6,180
Anishinaabe StudiesAlgoma, OntarioMin. Avg. 65%$5,982
Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe Language)Algoma, OntarioMin. Avg. 65%$5,982
Applied Linguistics and Discourse StudiesCarleton, Ontario75%$6,188
Archaeology and Heritage StudiesLaurier, OntarioMid 70s$6,180
Art HistoryCarleton, Ontario75%$6,188

If you don't get in

Routes the data shows: like programs that ask for less, and college programs with a transfer agreement into this one.

Asks for less
  • English at Algoma: Min. Avg. 65%
  • English at MacEwan: No average range published; 65% overall (no course under 50%) is the minimum to be considered
  • Bachelor of Arts: English at MRU: Competitive average range for Fall 2027 applicants (two best Group A courses): 65 to 70%

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with Nipissing University. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.