Nipissing University
North Bay, Ontario · 5,032 undergraduates
Is it hard to get into Nipissing?
How Nipissing's first-year students came in (official figures, fall 2022), then what the school publishes for each program.
| Field | Entering average | School says | First-year tuition | Graduates working | Co-op |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer science | Not reported | 70% minimum | $9,219 | 100% | No |
| Business and commerce | 82.7% | 70% minimum | $9,716 | 98.4% | Yes |
| Nursing | 91.7% | Not published | $6,240 | 98.3% | No |
| Health sciences and kinesiology | 83% | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 96.2% | No |
| Life sciences | Not reported | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 94.1% | No |
| Math and physical sciences | Not reported | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 100% | No |
| Social sciences | 82.6% | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 98.9% | No |
| Arts and humanities | 82.9% | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 100% | No |
| Education (teaching) | 86.6% | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 99.1% | No |
| Fine and performing arts | 89.3% | 70% minimum | $6,138 | 100% | No |
Entering average: the official fall 2022 figure (Common University Data Ontario) for the program group that holds the field, shown by group below. Graduates working: graduates of 2021.
What averages did Nipissing's first-year students come in with?
Every new full-time first-year student at Nipissing who came straight from an Ontario high school in fall 2022, by program group: the share in each average band and the group's overall average. This is who enrolled, not a cut-off, and a group holds several programs.
| Program group | Average | 95 and up | 90 to 94 | 85 to 89 | 80 to 84 | 75 to 79 | 70 to 74 | Below 70 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | 91.7% | 22% | 52% | 22% | 0% | 0% | 4% | 0% |
| Fine and applied arts | 89.3% | 25% | 0% | 75% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Education | 86.6% | 5% | 30% | 32% | 22% | 7% | 3% | 0% |
| General science | 86% | 7% | 16% | 35% | 30% | 9% | 2% | 0% |
| Kinesiology, recreation and physical education | 83% | 0% | 9% | 28% | 41% | 19% | 3% | 0% |
| Liberal arts, general studies and humanities | 82.9% | 8% | 17% | 19% | 19% | 21% | 7% | 8% |
| Commerce, management and business | 82.7% | 18% | 0% | 18% | 27% | 18% | 18% | 0% |
| Social sciences | 82.6% | 0% | 30% | 10% | 30% | 0% | 30% | 0% |
| All of Nipissing | 85.4% | 8% | 23% | 27% | 23% | 12% | 6% | 2% |
Source: Council of Ontario Universities, Common University Data Ontario (CUDO) section B3, fall 2022 entering class, read 2026-10-25. The council's CUDO report tool (opens in a new tab). Shares are rounded; the table gives them to one decimal. A blank in the source means no students in that band, shown here as 0%.
What are the easiest programs to get into at Nipissing?
The programs with the lowest bar in the school's own figures: its published minimum or range. A low bar is not an easy program; competitive programs can take students well above it.
Lowest bar
- 1Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science / Bachelor of Commerce (dual degree)The school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 2Bachelor of Commerce (Distance)The school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 3BiologyThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 4Business AdministrationThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 5Child and Family StudiesThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 6Computer ScienceThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 7Criminal JusticeThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 8Data ScienceThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
Highest bar
- 1Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science / Bachelor of Commerce (dual degree)The school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 2Bachelor of Commerce (Distance)The school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 3BiologyThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 4Business AdministrationThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 5Child and Family StudiesThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 6Computer ScienceThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 7Criminal JusticeThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
- 8Data ScienceThe school says minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
What average do you need for each Nipissing program?
29 first-year programs you can apply to straight from Grade 12, grouped by field. Open one for its required courses, extra steps, cost and the same program elsewhere.
Computer scienceevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer ScienceNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $9,219 |
| Data ScienceNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $9,219 |
Business and commerceevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science / Bachelor of Commerce (dual degree)North Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | Not published |
| Bachelor of Commerce (Distance)North Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $9,716 |
| Business AdministrationNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | Yes, optional | $9,716 |
Nursingevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| NursingNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,240 |
Health sciences and kinesiologyevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physical and Health EducationNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
Life sciencesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| BiologyNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
| Environmental Biology and TechnologyNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
Math and physical sciencesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Environment and Physical GeographyNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
| Environmental ScienceNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
| MathematicsNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
Arts and humanitiesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| English StudiesNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
| HistoryNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
| PhilosophyNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
Education (teaching)every university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education: ConcurrentNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | Not published |
Fine and performing artsevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fine ArtsNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
General arts and science (major chosen later)every university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liberal ArtsNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
| Liberal ScienceNorth Bay | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | No | $6,138 |
How much does Nipissing cost?
First year, at this year's prices, for a student from Ontario. Each program's page adds up its own total.
Tuition over the years
First-year arts tuition for a student from the school's own province, as the school published it each year.
What is it like at Nipissing?
The same whatever program you pick.
- Who gets a room
- Guaranteed for students applying directly from high school who have an offer of admission by 21 May 2027 and submit the residence application and $400 deposit by 1 June 2027.
- Money just for your marks
- $2,500 for 90 to 94%, can renew each year
- $1,500 for 85 to 89%, can renew each year
- $1,000 for 80 to 84%, can renew each year
- First-years who rate it good or excellent
- Not published
- Finish their degree
- 79.8%, started in 2015
- Ways in without the usual marks
- Indigenous Foundations Program (IFP). A full-time first-year transition program for Indigenous students, including those who do not meet the usual admission requirements. Students earn university credits with culturally grounded teaching and a dedicated Student Success Program Coordinator. Who: Students with Indigenous ancestry, including recent high school or college graduates, transfer students, mature students and those missing some of the usual admission requirements. Open to domestic students.
- Mature student admission. Applicants who do not qualify as regular applicants can be considered as mature students. No special application is needed, and mature students start full-time on probation with a reduced course load. Who: 20 years of age or older by the end of the starting semester, away from formal education (high school, college and so on) for at least the previous two years, and a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
Support at Nipissing, and other ways in
For students with a disability, Indigenous students, and anyone who needs another route in. Quoted from Nipissing's own pages.
- Students with a disability
Student Accessibility Services (SAS) (opens in a new tab)
- “We support students at any stage of their diagnosis.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “We urge you to get in touch with us before your first semester begins, but we will work with students at any time.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Please note that completing the online registration form requires you to log in with your Nipissing student email account.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Indigenous students
Getting in: Indigenous Admission Pathways (opens in a new tab)
- “Indigenous Admission Pathways offers support programs to students with Indigenous ancestry. This includes extra support for those who do not meet regular criteria for High School Students in Canada, Domestic Mature Students or College/University Transfer Students.” Source (opens in a new tab)
Support: Enji giigdoyang, Office of Indigenous Initiatives (opens in a new tab)
- “The Student Success Coordinator advises new and returning Indigenous (First Nations, Metis and Inuit) students and enhances their educational experience through a holistic approach to support.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Come use the space to study, have lunch, grab a snack or engage in social, cultural and academic activities and workshops.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Other ways in
- None found on Nipissing's pages
- Mature students
- “Be 20 years of age or older by the end of the semester in which they wish to enrol.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Have been away from formal education (secondary school, community college, etc.) for at least the previous two years.” Source (opens in a new tab)
Every quote was found word for word on the page it links to on 29 October 2026. Rules change: confirm with the office before you rely on one. Compare every school's support and access routes.
What do Nipissing graduates earn?
Statistics Canada does not publish pay by university, only by field for each province's graduates. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.
| Field | Two years after (class of 2022) | Five years after (class of 2019) |
|---|---|---|
| Computer science | $79,700 | $106,600 |
| Business and commerce | $63,900 | $82,200 |
| Nursing | $80,200 | $86,300 |
| Health sciences and kinesiology | $44,200 | $68,900 |
| Life sciences | $43,000 | $71,300 |
| Math and physical sciences | $61,000 | $84,200 |
| Social sciences | $51,400 | $68,400 |
| Arts and humanities | $41,700 | $60,500 |
| Education (teaching) | $64,900 | $80,500 |
| Fine and performing arts | $33,300 | $49,300 |
What careers do Nipissing programs lead to?
Two careers per field the school teaches, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.
- Software DeveloperBuild apps, websites and systems. No licence required, many roads in.$100kTypical pay1 to 4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Data ScientistTurn piles of data into predictions and decisions. Math, code and a lot of cleaning up.$96kTypical pay4 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Accountant (CPA)The money behind every business. A degree, a national exam, and a designation that travels.$84kTypical pay6 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Financial AnalystRead the numbers behind a company or a deal and tell people what they mean. A degree, then years of exams.$90kTypical pay4 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Registered NurseCare for patients in hospitals, clinics and homes. In demand everywhere in Canada.$90kTypical pay4 yearsTo qualifyVery highDemand
- Nurse PractitionerA nurse with a master's degree who can diagnose, order tests and prescribe. Two degrees, six figures, huge demand.$128kTypical pay8 to 9 yearsTo qualifyVery highDemand
- PhysiotherapistGet people moving again after injury, surgery and illness. A tough master's to get into, then steady work everywhere.$96kTypical pay6 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- KinesiologistMovement, exercise and rehab science. A popular 4-year degree that opens doors, often to more school.$67kTypical pay4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- BiologistStudy living things for a government, a university or a consulting firm. The degree is the easy part; the funding is the hard part.$83kTypical pay4 to 6 yearsTo qualifyLimitedDemand
Compare Nipissing with other universities
Side by side: programs, averages, costs and outcomes.
Where these numbers come from
Checked 2026-10-10. Every figure is from the school's own pages or a government table; nothing is estimated.
- Residence: nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab) (nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Who gets a room: nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Scholarships: nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Fees: nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Satisfaction: nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Rent: www150.statcan.gc.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Pay by field: www150.statcan.gc.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Entering averages (Common University Data Ontario, fall 2022): couprodpublicreports.tgtsolutions.com (opens in a new tab)
- Child and Family Studies: future.nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab) (from an archived copy, 12 March 2026 (opens in a new tab))
- English Studies: future.nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab) (from an archived copy, 13 May 2026 (opens in a new tab))
- Geography: future.nipissingu.ca (opens in a new tab) (from an archived copy, 13 April 2026 (opens in a new tab))
How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.
Careerhelp is not affiliated with any school. Check the program page before you apply; requirements change every year.
Social sciencesevery university, ranked