Western University
London, Ontario · 38,060 undergraduates
Is it hard to get into Western?
How Western's first-year students came in (official figures, fall 2022), then what the school publishes for each program.
| Field | Entering average | School says | First-year tuition | Graduates working | Co-op |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer science | Not reported | Low to mid 80s | $8,077 | 94.4% | Yes |
| Engineering | 91.8% | High 80s to low 90s | $12,539 | 87.2% | Yes |
| Business and commerce | 92.4% | Mid to high 80s | $8,077 | 94% | Yes |
| Nursing | 92.6% | High 80s to low 90s | $6,171 | 96.5% | No |
| Health sciences and kinesiology | 94% | High 80s to low 90s | $6,171 | 98.4% | Yes |
| Life sciences | 94.7% | Low to mid 80s | $6,171 | 87.6% | Yes |
| Math and physical sciences | Not reported | Low to mid 80s | $6,171 | 95% | Yes |
| Social sciences | 90.5% | Low to mid 80s | $6,171 | 96.9% | Yes |
| Arts and humanities | 89.1% | Low 80s | $6,171 | 95.2% | Yes |
| Fine and performing arts | 88.4% | Low 80s | $6,171 | 90% | Yes |
Entering average: the official fall 2022 figure (Common University Data Ontario) for the program group that holds the field, shown by group below. Graduates working: graduates of 2021.
What averages did Western's first-year students come in with?
Every new full-time first-year student at Western who came straight from an Ontario high school in fall 2022, by program group: the share in each average band and the group's overall average. This is who enrolled, not a cut-off, and a group holds several programs.
| Program group | Average | 95 and up | 90 to 94 | 85 to 89 | 80 to 84 | 75 to 79 | 70 to 74 | Below 70 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biological and biomedical sciences | 94.7% | 57% | 38% | 4% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Health professions | 94% | 47% | 49% | 5% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Nursing | 92.6% | 23% | 64% | 12% | 0% | 1% | 0% | 0% |
| Commerce, management and business | 92.4% | 31% | 46% | 21% | 2% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Engineering | 91.8% | 23% | 51% | 24% | 1% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Social sciences | 90.5% | 22% | 35% | 35% | 8% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| General science | 90.4% | 19% | 36% | 39% | 6% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Family, consumer and human sciences | 90.2% | 10% | 40% | 50% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Kinesiology, recreation and physical education | 90% | 12% | 42% | 42% | 4% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Music | 89.8% | 34% | 20% | 20% | 22% | 0% | 2% | 2% |
| Liberal arts, general studies and humanities | 89.1% | 17% | 37% | 23% | 18% | 5% | 0% | 0% |
| Communication and journalism | 88.8% | 15% | 32% | 32% | 15% | 5% | 1% | 0% |
| Fine and applied arts | 88.4% | 13% | 38% | 33% | 13% | 0% | 4% | 0% |
| All of Western | 91.8% | 30% | 42% | 24% | 4% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
Source: Council of Ontario Universities, Common University Data Ontario (CUDO) section B3, fall 2022 entering class, read 2026-10-25. The council's CUDO report tool (opens in a new tab). Shares are rounded; the table gives them to one decimal. A blank in the source means no students in that band, shown here as 0%.
What are the easiest programs to get into at Western?
The programs with the lowest bar in the school's own figures: its published minimum or range. A low bar is not an easy program; competitive programs can take students well above it.
Lowest bar
- 1Arts & HumanitiesThe school says low 80s
- 2Bachelor of Music (BMus)The school says low 80s
- 3Computer ScienceThe school says low to mid 80s
- 4Family Studies & Human DevelopmentThe school says low 80s
- 5Fine Arts: Studio (BFA Studio Art)The school says low 80s
- 6Foods and NutritionThe school says low to mid 80s
- 7Media and Communication StudiesThe school says low to mid 80s
- 8MOS: Commercial Aviation Management (CAM)The school says low 80s
Highest bar
- 1EngineeringThe school says high 80s to low 90s
- 2Health SciencesThe school says high 80s to low 90s
- 3Nursing (Direct Entry BScN)The school says high 80s to low 90s
- 4KinesiologyThe school says high 80s
- 5Management & Organizational Studies (MOS)The school says mid to high 80s
- 6Medical SciencesThe school says mid to high 80s
- 7Computer ScienceThe school says low to mid 80s
- 8Foods and NutritionThe school says low to mid 80s
What average do you need for each Western program?
31 first-year programs you can apply to straight from Grade 12, grouped by field. Open one for its required courses, extra steps, cost and the same program elsewhere.
Computer scienceevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer ScienceLondon | Low to mid 80s | Yes, optional | $8,077 |
Engineeringevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| EngineeringLondon | High 80s to low 90s | Yes, optional | $12,539 |
Business and commerceevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Huron Management & Organizational StudiesLondon | No average published | Yes, optional | $8,077 |
| King's Management & Organizational StudiesLondon | No average published | Yes, optional | $8,077 |
| Management & Organizational Studies (MOS)London | Mid to high 80s | Yes, optional | $8,077 |
| MOS: Commercial Aviation Management (CAM)London | Low 80s | Yes, optional | $8,077 |
Nursingevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing (Direct Entry BScN)London | High 80s to low 90s | No | $6,171 |
Health sciences and kinesiologyevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Foods and NutritionLondon | Low to mid 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| Health SciencesLondon | High 80s to low 90s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| KinesiologyLondon | High 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
Life sciencesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical SciencesLondon | Mid to high 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
Math and physical sciencesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| ScienceLondon | Low to mid 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| Western Integrated Science (WISc)London | Low to mid 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
Arts and humanitiesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arts & HumanitiesLondon | Low 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| Huron ArtsLondon | No average published | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| King's ArtsLondon | No average published | School doesn't say | $6,171 |
| Media and Communication StudiesLondon | Low to mid 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| School for Advanced Studies in Arts & Humanities (SASAH)London | Low 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
Fine and performing artsevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Music (BMus)London | Low 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| Fine Arts: Studio (BFA Studio Art)London | Low 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| Music (BA)London | Low 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
| Music Administrative StudiesLondon | Mid 80s | Yes, optional | $6,171 |
How much does Western cost?
First year, at this year's prices, for a student from Ontario. Each program's page adds up its own total.
Tuition over the years
First-year arts tuition for a student from the school's own province, as the school published it each year.
What is it like at Western?
The same whatever program you pick.
- Who gets a room
- Residence is guaranteed to incoming first-year students coming directly from high school who have an offer of full-time first-year admission to Western's main campus by mid-May and who complete the Residence Placement Questionnaire and pay the $900 residence prepayment by 3 June 2027 (myHousing Portal).
- Money just for your marks
- $2,500 for 92 to 100%
- $1,500 for 90 to 91.9%
- First-years who rate it good or excellent
- Not published
- Finish their degree
- 86.9%, started in 2015
- Ways in without the usual marks
- Indigenous Student STEM Access Program (ISSAP). A supported preliminary year for First Nations, Métis and Inuit students who want to study engineering or science. Students get used to university lectures and labs while completing the Grade 11 and 12 level prerequisite courses they need, with an academic advisor and a success team. Who: Indigenous students (First Nation, status and non-status, Métis and Inuit) of all ages; a small cohort is admitted each year after a meeting with an advisor.
- Mature Student admission. Adults without a formal basis of admission can apply as mature students. Western looks at their experience and goals as a whole, and full-time applicants fill in a Mature Applicant Supplementary Form. Who: Canadian citizen or permanent resident, at least 21 in the year of entry, no formal basis of admission such as earlier university or college study, not in full-time education for the past four years, and at least a C (60%) in all academic work attempted in the past four years.
Support at Western, and other ways in
For students with a disability, Indigenous students, and anyone who needs another route in. Quoted from Western's own pages.
- Students with a disability
Accessible Education (opens in a new tab)
- “After we have reviewed your Primary Documentation for Registration you will be invited to attend an Intake & Onboarding appointment.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “In most cases, this means that a diagnostic evaluation must have been completed within the past three years using adult-normed instruments.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “IEPs can be submitted as additional documentation, but do not suffice on their own for full documentation or full accommodations.” Source (opens in a new tab)
In admission
- “Western welcomes applicants who meet our minimum admission requirements but may be below our competitive average and faced circumstances which impacted their academic performance.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Students with learning exceptionalities (broadly interpreted)” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Indigenous students
Getting in: Indigenous Admission Access Category (opens in a new tab)
- “The purpose of the Indigenous Admission Access Category is to encourage undergraduate applications from Indigenous people while providing additional support throughout the application and admissions process.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “You can apply through this category alongside your Ontario Universities' Application Centre (OUAC) application to start your journey with us.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Applicants must upload any two documents demonstrating proof of citizenship or membership to the Indigenous Nation claiming them.” Source (opens in a new tab)
Support: Indigenous Student Centre (opens in a new tab)
- “A welcoming space for Indigenous students to connect, access supports, and build community through cultural and academic programming.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Connect with ISC tutors for personalized academic support and study tips throughout the school year.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Other ways in
Indigenous Student STEM Access Program (ISSAP) (opens in a new tab). First Nations, Métis and Inuit students who want to study Engineering or Science but need a preparatory year first.
- “The Indigenous Student STEM Access Program (ISSAP) provides an alternative pathway for Indigenous students, including First Nation (Status and Non-Status), Métis, and Inuit, to pursue either an Engineering or Science program at Western University.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Upon successful completion of ISSAP with a minimum cumulative average of 75%, students are eligible to transition directly into first-year Engineering or Science programs at Western.” Source (opens in a new tab)
Diverse Qualifications Admission (opens in a new tab). Applicants who meet the minimum requirements but fall below the usual average and have done well despite hardship, barriers or other challenges.
- “Western welcomes applicants who meet our minimum admission requirements but may be below our competitive average and have demonstrated commitment and/or excellence in other endeavours, or students who have succeeded in their studies amidst difficult circumstances.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Students who have experienced systemic barriers, sociocultural adversity or personal hardship.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Mature students
- “You will be at least 21 years of age in the calendar year you want to start at Western.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “You have not been in full-time attendance at an educational institution in the past four years.” Source (opens in a new tab)
Every quote was found word for word on the page it links to on 29 October 2026. Rules change: confirm with the office before you rely on one. Compare every school's support and access routes.
What do Western graduates earn?
Statistics Canada does not publish pay by university, only by field for each province's graduates. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.
| Field | Two years after (class of 2022) | Five years after (class of 2019) |
|---|---|---|
| Computer science | $79,700 | $106,600 |
| Engineering | $81,000 | $95,900 |
| Business and commerce | $63,900 | $82,200 |
| Nursing | $80,200 | $86,300 |
| Health sciences and kinesiology | $44,200 | $68,900 |
| Life sciences | $43,000 | $71,300 |
| Math and physical sciences | $61,000 | $84,200 |
| Social sciences | $51,400 | $68,400 |
| Arts and humanities | $41,700 | $60,500 |
| Fine and performing arts | $33,300 | $49,300 |
What careers do Western programs lead to?
Two careers per field the school teaches, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.
- Software DeveloperBuild apps, websites and systems. No licence required, many roads in.$100kTypical pay1 to 4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Data ScientistTurn piles of data into predictions and decisions. Math, code and a lot of cleaning up.$96kTypical pay4 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Civil EngineerRoads, bridges, water and buildings. A four-year degree, then a licence that lets you sign the drawings.$101kTypical pay4 to 8 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Mechanical EngineerMachines, engines, heating systems and factories. The biggest engineering discipline, with the widest choice of employers.$95kTypical pay4 to 8 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Accountant (CPA)The money behind every business. A degree, a national exam, and a designation that travels.$84kTypical pay6 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Financial AnalystRead the numbers behind a company or a deal and tell people what they mean. A degree, then years of exams.$90kTypical pay4 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Registered NurseCare for patients in hospitals, clinics and homes. In demand everywhere in Canada.$90kTypical pay4 yearsTo qualifyVery highDemand
- Nurse PractitionerA nurse with a master's degree who can diagnose, order tests and prescribe. Two degrees, six figures, huge demand.$128kTypical pay8 to 9 yearsTo qualifyVery highDemand
- PhysiotherapistGet people moving again after injury, surgery and illness. A tough master's to get into, then steady work everywhere.$96kTypical pay6 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
Compare Western with other universities
Side by side: programs, averages, costs and outcomes.
Where these numbers come from
Checked 2026-10-10. Every figure is from the school's own pages or a government table; nothing is estimated.
- Residence: residence.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) (huronu.ca (opens in a new tab) ; kings.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Who gets a room: residence.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) (residence.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) ; kings.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) ; huronu.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Scholarships: registrar.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) (welcome.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) ; kings.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) ; huronu.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Fees: registrar.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) (huronu.ca (opens in a new tab) ; kings.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Satisfaction: ipb.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab) (ipb.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Rent: www150.statcan.gc.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Books: welcome.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Pay by field: www150.statcan.gc.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Entering averages (Common University Data Ontario, fall 2022): couprodpublicreports.tgtsolutions.com (opens in a new tab)
- Arts & Humanities: welcome.uwo.ca (opens in a new tab)
How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.
Careerhelp is not affiliated with any school. Check the program page before you apply; requirements change every year.
Social sciencesevery university, ranked