Education programs in Canada, ranked by admission average
111 programs at 28 universities, each on its own page. Ranked by the average each school publishes: the top of its range, or its minimum.
Which education programs ask for the highest average?
Each school's own published average or minimum, in its own words. Entering average: the official fall 2022 average of first-year students in the program group that holds this field at that school (Common University Data Ontario), not of the one program.
| Rank | Program | School says | Entering average at the school | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Concurrent Education/KinesiologyQueen's, Ontario | Low 90s | 93.4% | $6,205 |
| 2 | Bachelor of Education: ElementaryMRU, Alberta | Competitive average range for Fall 2027 applicants (two best Group A courses): 85 to 90% | Ontario only | $7,044 |
| 3 | EducationUCalgary, Alberta · 2 tracks, all on UCalgary's page | Averages that secured an offer in Fall 2025, on-campus 4-year and 5-year concurrent BEd (Bachelor of Education), by teachable: 81.4% (French) to 90% (Early Childhood, English Language Arts, Biology) | Ontario only | $7,592 |
| 4 | Teacher Education: Elementary CurriculumUVic, British Columbia | Estimated admission average: minimum 90% (based on the required grade 12 courses) | Ontario only | $6,544 |
| 5 | Concurrent Education/ArtsQueen's, Ontario | High 80s | 93.4% | $6,205 |
| 6 | Concurrent Teacher EducationBrock, Ontario · 11 tracks, all on Brock's page | Expected cut-off: high 80s | 89.6% | Not published |
| 7 | General Studies (Education)SFU, British Columbia | Mid 80s | Ontario only | $6,618 |
| 8 | Kindergarten and Elementary EducationMcGill, Quebec · 2 tracks, all on McGill's page | Low to mid 80s (top 6); low 80s (English or French courses) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 9 | Secondary EducationMcGill, Quebec · 4 tracks, all on McGill's page | Low to mid 80s (top 6); low 80s (English or French courses) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 10 | Bachelor of Early Childhood StudiesMRU, Alberta | Competitive average range for Fall 2027 applicants (two best Group A courses): 75 to 85% (Bachelor of Child Studies row) | Ontario only | $7,044 |
| 11 | Bachelor of Early Childhood Curriculum StudiesMacEwan, Alberta | Competitive range high 60s to low 80s (2027/28 intake) | Ontario only | $8,000 |
| 12 | Concurrent Education/MusicQueen's, Ontario | Low 80s | 93.4% | $6,205 |
| 13 | Concurrent Education/ScienceQueen's, Ontario | Low 80s | 93.4% | $6,205 |
| 14 | Education in Global ContextsMcGill, Quebec | Low 80s (top 6); low 80s (English or French courses) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 15 | Physical and Health EducationMcGill, Quebec | Low 80s (top 6); low 80s (English or French courses) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 16 | Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL)McGill, Quebec · 2 tracks, all on McGill's page | Low 80s (top 6); low 80s (English or French courses) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 17 | General Science / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 80% (70% average of all attempted science and math courses); mean average of entering students 87% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 18 | Mathematics / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 80% (80% average in each attempted 4U/M Math course); mean average of entering students 92% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 19 | Teaching and Learning at the Elementary LevelBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 20 | Teaching and Learning at the Secondary LevelBishop's, Quebec · 4 tracks, all on Bishop's's page | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 21 | Teaching and Learning of the Creative ArtsBishop's, Quebec · 3 tracks, all on Bishop's's page | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 22 | Teaching English as a Second LanguageBishop's, Quebec | Estimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs) | Ontario only | $9,730 |
| 23 | Educational StudiesYork, Ontario | Mid-to-high 70s or higher | 87.5% | $6,240 |
| 24 | Educational StudiesBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 70s | 89.6% | $6,211 |
| 25 | International Education StudiesLaurier, Ontario | Mid 70s | Not reported | $6,180 |
| 26 | Communication, Media and Film / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 86% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 27 | Dramatic Art / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 85% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 28 | Early Childhood StudiesTMU, Ontario | 70-75% | Not reported | $6,348 |
| 29 | Education (Concurrent B.Ed.)Laurentian, Ontario | A minimum overall average of 75% in the 6 best grade 12 U/M courses | 85.1% | $6,120 |
| 30 | English / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 88% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 31 | French Studies / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 89% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 32 | History / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 86% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 33 | Political Science / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 34 | Psychology / Concurrent Education / Early Childhood EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 87% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 35 | Second Language Education / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English; mean average of entering students 79% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 36 | Teacher Education StreamTrent, Ontario | Minimum 75% overall average | 86.9% | $6,241 |
| 37 | Visual Arts / Concurrent EducationWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 75%; mean average of entering students 86% | 86.5% | $6,230 |
| 38 | Adult Learning with TechnologyOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | Not reported | $6,102 |
| 39 | Digital TechnologiesOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | Not reported | $6,102 |
| 40 | Early Childhood and Elementary EducationConcordia, Quebec | High school: B (Ontario 73 to 76% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 41 | Early Childhood StudiesOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | Not reported | $6,102 |
| 42 | Educational StudiesOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | Not reported | $6,102 |
| 43 | Equity, Diversity and InclusionOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | Not reported | $6,102 |
| 44 | Special EducationOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent | Not reported | $6,102 |
| 45 | Baccalauréat en Arts et Éducation combinésUOF, Ontario | Moyenne minimale exigee de 70% dans six cours de niveau 4U ou 4M | Not reported | $6,600 |
| 46 | Bachelor of EducationUSask, Saskatchewan | Early admission: 75% (apply and send documents by 1 December). Otherwise competitive ranking; expected target average based on 2026-27 admissions: 70% | Ontario only | $8,090 |
| 47 | Bachelor of Education / Bachelor of Science (Mathematics)URegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required (ENG4U, MHF4U and two of SBI4U, MCV4U, SCH4U, SES4U, SPH4U); 65.00 to 69.99% with all subjects, or missing one subject with 70% on the rest, is admitted as Science Qualifying | Ontario only | Not published |
| 48 | Bachelor of EducationUSask, Saskatchewan · 2 tracks, all on USask's page | Admission average: 70% | Ontario only | $8,090 |
| 49 | Éducation physiqueMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 50 | Éducation primaireMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 51 | Éducation secondaireMoncton, New Brunswick · 9 tracks, all on Moncton's page | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 52 | Education: ConcurrentLakehead, Ontario | A minimum 70% overall final average | 85.2% | $6,354 |
| 53 | Education: ConcurrentNipissing, Ontario | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | 86.6% | Not published |
| 54 | Indigenous Bachelor of EducationTrent, Ontario | Minimum 70% overall average | 86.9% | $6,241 |
| 55 | Music EducationUPEI, Prince Edward Island | Minimum overall average 70%; no published cut-off | Ontario only | $8,130 |
| 56 | Physical Education / Physical Literacy (joint BEd/BKin)URegina, Saskatchewan | 70% average required; applicants missing one subject and/or with 65 to 69.99% are admitted to the KHS Qualifying program (BKin or BSRS only) | Ontario only | Not published |
| 57 | Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL)Concordia, Quebec | High school: B- (Ontario 70 to 72% on Concordia's scale) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 58 | Arts EducationURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty | Ontario only | $8,618 |
| 59 | Baccalauréat en éducation française au secondaireURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty | Ontario only | $8,618 |
| 60 | Baccalauréat en éducation française élémentaireURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty | Ontario only | $8,618 |
| 61 | Combined Bachelor of Arts / Bachelor of EducationULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 62 | Combined Bachelor of Fine Arts / Bachelor of EducationULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 63 | Combined Bachelor of Music / Bachelor of EducationULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 64 | Combined Bachelor of Science / Bachelor of EducationULethbridge, Alberta | General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published) | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 65 | Early Years EducationULethbridge, Alberta | Competitive; the published floor is the 65% general admission average | Ontario only | $6,822 |
| 66 | Elementary EducationURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty | Ontario only | $8,618 |
| 67 | Indigenous EducationURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty | Ontario only | $8,618 |
| 68 | Music EducationURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required (ENG4U plus three approved 4U/4M courses) | Ontario only | Not published |
| 69 | Secondary EducationURegina, Saskatchewan | 65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty | Ontario only | $8,618 |
| 70 | Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education (AD) 5-Year IntegratedBrandon, Manitoba | Ontario high school graduation with a minimum 60% average on six Grade 12 U or M courses including English (ENG4U) | Ontario only | $4,737 |
| Aging and Learning in an Era of TechnologyOntario Tech, Ontario | No average published | Not reported | $6,102 | |
| Bachelor of Education (BEd.)York, Ontario | No average published | 87.5% | Not published | |
| Bachelor of Education (French)York, Ontario | No average published | 87.5% | Not published | |
| Bachelor of Music EducationMount Allison, New Brunswick | No published admission average; 65% minimum in each course counted | Ontario only | $11,350 | |
| Concurrent Education/Arts: FrenchQueen's, Ontario | No average published | 93.4% | $6,205 | |
| Developmental Science and LearningOntario Tech, Ontario | No average published | Not reported | $6,102 | |
| Educational PsychologyOntario Tech, Ontario | No average published | Not reported | $6,102 | |
| Inclusive Educational StudiesOntario Tech, Ontario | No average published | Not reported | $6,102 | |
| Indigenous Teacher Education Program (NITEP)UBC, British Columbia | No average published; 70% overall is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,201 | |
| Learning Sciences and TechnologyOntario Tech, Ontario | No average published | Not reported | $6,102 | |
| Mental Health and Special EducationOntario Tech, Ontario | No average published | Not reported | $6,102 |
What Grade 12 courses do you need for education?
Counted across the 108 education programs that list their courses. "Required" means the program names the course outright; "one of" means it appears in a choice.
| Course | Required by | One of a choice at |
|---|---|---|
| ENG4UEnglish | 65% of programs | 19% of programs |
| FRA4UFrançais | 11% of programs | 11% of programs |
| MHF4UAdvanced Functions | 16% of programs | 2% of programs |
| SBI4UBiology | 8% of programs | 10% of programs |
| EAE4UEnglish (EAE4U) | 7% of programs | 8% of programs |
| SCH4UChemistry | 4% of programs | 10% of programs |
| SPH4UPhysics | 4% of programs | 10% of programs |
| MCV4UCalculus and Vectors | 7% of programs | 2% of programs |
| ETS4UStudies in Literature | 6% of programs | None |
| MDM4UMathematics of Data Management | 5% of programs | 2% of programs |
| SES4UEarth and Space Science | 4% of programs | 2% of programs |
| NBE4UGrade 12 course | None | 8% of programs |
Picking Grade 12 courses? Keep every course in the top rows, and check the program pages above for the exact list and minimum marks. The finder checks your courses against every program.
What careers do education programs lead to?
- TeacherElementary or high school. A pension, summers off, and a salary grid that climbs for about ten years.$90kTypical pay4 to 6 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Guidance CounsellorThe person students go to about courses, university applications and the stuff they cannot tell anyone else.$85kTypical pay6 to 8 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Early Childhood EducatorRun the learning day for kids under 6. Two years of college and a licence nearly everywhere in Canada.$46kTypical pay2 to 3 yearsTo qualifyGoodDemand
- College InstructorTeach your trade or field at a college. Real work experience counts more than a doctorate.$94kTypical pay7 to 12 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Driving InstructorTeach new drivers in a car with a second set of pedals. Cheap to get into, and the pay depends on how many lessons you fill.$42kTypical pay1 to 4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Educational AssistantWork one on one with the students who need the most help. One year of college gets you into a school.$52kTypical pay1 to 2 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
Other fields in Canada
- Computer science
- Engineering
- Business
- Nursing
- Health sciences
- Life sciences
- Math and physics
- Social sciences
- Arts
- Fine arts
- Architecture
- Undecided
Or every university on its own page: the full list.