University of Guelph
Guelph, Ontario · 25,325 undergraduates
Is it hard to get into Guelph?
How Guelph's first-year students came in (official figures, fall 2022), then what the school publishes for each program.
| Field | Entering average | School says | First-year tuition | Graduates working | Co-op |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer science | 91.7% | 82 to 87% | $8,681 | 87.5% | Yes |
| Engineering | 90% | 84 to 89% | $11,512 | 91.6% | Yes |
| Business and commerce | 86% | 80 to 86% | $10,565 | 93.3% | Yes |
| Health sciences and kinesiology | 86% | 86 to 92% | $6,213 | 94.6% | Yes |
| Life sciences | 93% | 80 to 85% | $6,213 | 94% | Yes |
| Math and physical sciences | Not reported | 78 to 83% | $6,213 | 100% | Yes |
| Social sciences | 83% | 75 to 80% | $6,213 | 96.2% | Yes |
| Arts and humanities | 87.4% | 75 to 80% | $6,213 | 91.4% | Yes |
| Fine and performing arts | Not reported | 75 to 80% | $6,213 | 80% | No |
Entering average: the official fall 2022 figure (Common University Data Ontario) for the program group that holds the field, shown by group below. Graduates working: graduates of 2021.
What averages did Guelph's first-year students come in with?
Every new full-time first-year student at Guelph who came straight from an Ontario high school in fall 2022, by program group: the share in each average band and the group's overall average. This is who enrolled, not a cut-off, and a group holds several programs.
| Program group | Average | 95 and up | 90 to 94 | 85 to 89 | 80 to 84 | 75 to 79 | 70 to 74 | Below 70 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biological and biomedical sciences | 93% | 33% | 52% | 15% | 1% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Computer and information science | 91.7% | 18% | 60% | 20% | 2% | 1% | 0% | 0% |
| Engineering | 90% | 15% | 41% | 34% | 10% | 1% | 0% | 0% |
| General science | 88.5% | 12% | 30% | 36% | 20% | 3% | 0% | 0% |
| Family, consumer and human sciences | 88% | 9% | 32% | 36% | 17% | 6% | 1% | 0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 87.6% | 14% | 26% | 29% | 25% | 6% | 1% | 0% |
| Liberal arts, general studies and humanities | 87.4% | 10% | 29% | 31% | 20% | 10% | 0% | 0% |
| Commerce, management and business | 86% | 5% | 22% | 36% | 26% | 8% | 3% | 0% |
| Kinesiology, recreation and physical education | 86% | 8% | 24% | 30% | 23% | 10% | 5% | 0% |
| Communication and journalism | 85.5% | 6% | 29% | 26% | 19% | 13% | 7% | 0% |
| Agriculture | 85.4% | 5% | 20% | 32% | 27% | 14% | 2% | 0% |
| Psychology | 83.3% | 4% | 15% | 34% | 14% | 18% | 15% | 0% |
| Social sciences | 83% | 5% | 14% | 23% | 26% | 22% | 11% | 0% |
| All of Guelph | 87.8% | 11% | 30% | 31% | 19% | 7% | 2% | 0% |
Source: Council of Ontario Universities, Common University Data Ontario (CUDO) section B3, fall 2022 entering class, read 2026-10-25. The council's CUDO report tool (opens in a new tab). Shares are rounded; the table gives them to one decimal. A blank in the source means no students in that band, shown here as 0%.
What are the easiest programs to get into at Guelph?
The programs with the lowest bar in the school's own figures: its published minimum or range. A low bar is not an easy program; competitive programs can take students well above it.
Lowest bar
- 1Turfgrass ManagementThe school says 65-70%
- 2AnthropologyThe school says 75-80%
- 3Applied Human NutritionThe school says 75-80%
- 4Art HistoryThe school says 75-80%
- 5Bachelor of Science in AgricultureThe school says 75-80%
- 6Bachelor of Science in Environmental SciencesThe school says 75-80%
- 7Classical and Modern CulturesThe school says 75-80%
- 8Creative WritingThe school says 75-80%
Highest bar
- 1Animal BiologyThe school says 86-92%
- 2Bio-Medical ScienceThe school says 86-92%
- 3NeuroscienceThe school says 86-92%
- 4Human-Centred Artificial IntelligenceThe school says 85-90%
- 5Biomedical EngineeringThe school says 84-89%
- 6Biosystems EngineeringThe school says 84-89%
- 7Civil EngineeringThe school says 84-89%
- 8Computer EngineeringThe school says 84-89%
What average do you need for each Guelph program?
88 first-year programs you can apply to straight from Grade 12, grouped by field. Open one for its required courses, extra steps, cost and the same program elsewhere.
Computer scienceevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer ScienceGuelph | 82-87% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $8,681 |
| Human-Centred Artificial IntelligenceGuelph | 85-90% | No | $6,213 |
| Software EngineeringGuelph | 82-87% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $8,681 |
Engineeringevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biomedical EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Biosystems EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Civil EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Computer EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Electrical EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required | $11,512 |
| Engineering Systems and ComputingGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Environmental EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Mechanical EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Mechatronics EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
| Water Resources EngineeringGuelph | 84-89% | Yes, required, 5 work terms | $11,512 |
Business and commerceevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| AccountingGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $10,565 |
| Food and Agricultural BusinessGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $10,565 |
| Government, Economics and ManagementGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $10,565 |
| Hospitality and Tourism ManagementGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 3 work terms | $10,565 |
| ManagementGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $10,565 |
| Management Economics and FinanceGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $10,565 |
| Marketing ManagementGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $10,565 |
| Real EstateGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $10,565 |
| Sport and Event ManagementGuelph | 80-86% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $10,565 |
| Undeclared First Year Entry: B.CommGuelph | No average published | No | $10,565 |
Health sciences and kinesiologyevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applied Human NutritionGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Human Health and Nutritional SciencesGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Human KineticsGuelph | 80-85% | No | $6,213 |
| One HealthGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 3 work terms | $6,213 |
Life sciencesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Animal BiologyGuelph | 86-92% | No | $6,213 |
| Bachelor of Science in AgricultureGuelph | 75-80% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Bachelor of Science in Environmental SciencesGuelph | 75-80% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Bio-Medical ScienceGuelph | 86-92% | No | $6,213 |
| BiochemistryGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Biological ScienceGuelph | 80-85% | No | $6,213 |
| Biomedical ToxicologyGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Environmental ManagementGuelph | 75-80% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Food ScienceGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Indigenous Environmental Science and PracticeGuelph | 75-80% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Marine and Freshwater BiologyGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $6,213 |
| Microbiology and ImmunologyGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Molecular Biology and GeneticsGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| NeuroscienceGuelph | 86-92% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Plant ScienceGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Turfgrass ManagementGuelph | 65-70% | No | $6,213 |
| Wildlife Biology and ConservationGuelph | 80-85% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| ZoologyGuelph | 80-85% | No | $6,213 |
Math and physical sciencesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biological and Medical PhysicsGuelph | 78-83% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $6,213 |
| Biological and Pharmaceutical ChemistryGuelph | 78-83% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Chemical PhysicsGuelph | 78-83% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $6,213 |
| ChemistryGuelph | 78-83% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| Mathematical ScienceGuelph | 78-83% | No | $6,213 |
| Physical ScienceGuelph | 78-83% | No | $6,213 |
| PhysicsGuelph | 78-83% | Yes, optional, 5 work terms | $6,213 |
| Theoretical PhysicsGuelph | 78-83% | No | $6,213 |
Arts and humanitiesevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Art HistoryGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Bachelor of Arts, GeneralGuelph | No average published | No | $6,213 |
| Bachelor of Arts, UndeclaredGuelph | No average published | No | $6,213 |
| Classical and Modern CulturesGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Creative WritingGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Creative Writing (Bachelor of Creative Arts, Health and Wellness)Guelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Culture and Technology StudiesGuelph | 75-80% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| EnglishGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| French StudiesGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| HistoryGuelph | 75-80% | Yes, optional, 4 work terms | $6,213 |
| PhilosophyGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Sexualities, Genders and Social ChangeGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
Fine and performing artsevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| MusicGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Music (Bachelor of Creative Arts, Health and Wellness)Guelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Music TheatreGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Studio ArtGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Studio Art (Bachelor of Creative Arts, Health and Wellness)Guelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Theatre StudiesGuelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
| Theatre Studies (Bachelor of Creative Arts, Health and Wellness)Guelph | 75-80% | No | $6,213 |
Architecture and designevery university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Landscape ArchitectureGuelph | No average published | No | $9,429 |
General arts and science (major chosen later)every university, ranked
| Program | School says | Co-op | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arts and SciencesGuelph | 78-83% | No | $6,213 |
How much does Guelph cost?
First year, at this year's prices, for a student from Ontario. Each program's page adds up its own total.
Tuition over the years
First-year arts tuition for a student from the school's own province, as the school published it each year.
What is it like at Guelph?
The same whatever program you pick.
- Who gets a room
- Ontario high school applicants who receive an offer of admission before 1 March are guaranteed a residence space if they submit a Residence Application by 15 April, accept the offer through OUAC by 1 June and pay the $750 residence deposit by 1 June.
- Money just for your marks
- $2,000 for 95% and up
- $1,000 for 90 to 94.9%
- First-years who rate it good or excellent
- Not published
- Finish their degree
- 79.4%, started in 2015
- Ways in without the usual marks
- Guaranteed Admission Pathway (Open Learning program). Through the School of Continuing Studies, people take four online first-year degree courses. Admission to a Guelph degree is then based on those course marks, not on high school marks, so it suits people who did not finish high school or whose marks were too low. Who: People with no earlier post-secondary experience, including mature students, home-schooled people, and those who did not finish high school or whose marks do not meet Guelph's requirements. Must meet Guelph's English proficiency requirements and not be attending high school.
- Mature Student admission. Adults who have been out of high school for a while and have never studied at college or university apply as mature students. They still need the Grade 12 subject requirements for their program and a minimum average. Who: Out of full-time high school for two years or more, and never attended a college or university.
Support at Guelph, and other ways in
For students with a disability, Indigenous students, and anyone who needs another route in. Quoted from Guelph's own pages.
- Students with a disability
Student Accessibility Services (SAS) (opens in a new tab)
- “Are you new to Student Accessibility Services (SAS) at the University of Guelph? Complete the steps below to register!” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “New students to U of G are encouraged to select the Standard Registration option.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “You will be required to submit documentation from a registered health professional which verifies the existence of a disability and describes your current functional abilities given the condition you experience.” Source (opens in a new tab)
In admission
- “All semester one applicants who believe their admission average does not reflect their true academic ability as a result of a disability are encouraged to complete the Supplementary Information Form for Students with Disabilities.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Factors beyond their control that have negatively impacted their academic performance, such as illness or extenuating circumstances, will also be considered.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Indigenous students
Getting in: no separate Indigenous admission pathway found on Guelph's pages
Support: Indigenous Student Centre (ISC) (opens in a new tab)
- “The Indigenous Student Centre (ISC) houses many services and programs for Indigenous students, but most importantly, it is a space for self-identified First Nations, Inuit, and Métis students to come together and find community.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Any First Nations, Inuit, and/or Métis student can self-declare on their application or at any point during their studies at the University of Guelph to receive information about dedicated supports for Indigenous students.” Source (opens in a new tab)
- Other ways in
- None found on Guelph's pages
- Mature students
- “You will be considered a mature student if you: have been out of full-time high school for 2 years or more; and have never attended a post-secondary institution (e.g. college or university)” Source (opens in a new tab)
- “Present the specific 4U/4M Subject Requirements for the program(s) of interest; and Present a minimum admission average of 75%.” Source (opens in a new tab)
Every quote was found word for word on the page it links to on 29 October 2026. Rules change: confirm with the office before you rely on one. Compare every school's support and access routes.
What do Guelph graduates earn?
Statistics Canada does not publish pay by university, only by field for each province's graduates. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.
| Field | Two years after (class of 2022) | Five years after (class of 2019) |
|---|---|---|
| Computer science | $79,700 | $106,600 |
| Engineering | $81,000 | $95,900 |
| Business and commerce | $63,900 | $82,200 |
| Health sciences and kinesiology | $44,200 | $68,900 |
| Life sciences | $43,000 | $71,300 |
| Math and physical sciences | $61,000 | $84,200 |
| Social sciences | $51,400 | $68,400 |
| Arts and humanities | $41,700 | $60,500 |
| Fine and performing arts | $33,300 | $49,300 |
What careers do Guelph programs lead to?
Two careers per field the school teaches, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.
- Software DeveloperBuild apps, websites and systems. No licence required, many roads in.$100kTypical pay1 to 4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Data ScientistTurn piles of data into predictions and decisions. Math, code and a lot of cleaning up.$96kTypical pay4 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Civil EngineerRoads, bridges, water and buildings. A four-year degree, then a licence that lets you sign the drawings.$101kTypical pay4 to 8 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Mechanical EngineerMachines, engines, heating systems and factories. The biggest engineering discipline, with the widest choice of employers.$95kTypical pay4 to 8 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Accountant (CPA)The money behind every business. A degree, a national exam, and a designation that travels.$84kTypical pay6 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- Financial AnalystRead the numbers behind a company or a deal and tell people what they mean. A degree, then years of exams.$90kTypical pay4 to 7 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- PhysiotherapistGet people moving again after injury, surgery and illness. A tough master's to get into, then steady work everywhere.$96kTypical pay6 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- KinesiologistMovement, exercise and rehab science. A popular 4-year degree that opens doors, often to more school.$67kTypical pay4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- BiologistStudy living things for a government, a university or a consulting firm. The degree is the easy part; the funding is the hard part.$83kTypical pay4 to 6 yearsTo qualifyLimitedDemand
Compare Guelph with other universities
Side by side: programs, averages, costs and outcomes.
Where these numbers come from
Checked 2026-10-10. Every figure is from the school's own pages or a government table; nothing is estimated.
- Residence: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab) (uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Who gets a room: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Scholarships: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab) (uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab) ; uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab))
- Fees: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Satisfaction: irp.uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Rent: www150.statcan.gc.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Books: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Pay by field: www150.statcan.gc.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Entering averages (Common University Data Ontario, fall 2022): couprodpublicreports.tgtsolutions.com (opens in a new tab)
- Accounting: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Animal Biology: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
- Bachelor of Science in Agriculture: uoguelph.ca (opens in a new tab)
How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.
Careerhelp is not affiliated with any school. Check the program page before you apply; requirements change every year.
Social sciencesevery university, ranked