Nursing programs in Canada, ranked by admission average
39 programs at 30 universities, each on its own page. Ranked by the average each school publishes: the top of its range, or its minimum.
Which nursing programs ask for the highest average?
Each school's own published average or minimum, in its own words. Entering average: the official fall 2022 average of first-year students in the program group that holds this field at that school (Common University Data Ontario), not of the one program.
| Rank | Program | School says | Entering average at the school | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bachelor of NursingMRU, Alberta | Competitive average range for Fall 2027 applicants (two best Group A courses): 85 to 100%, considered together with the Casper score | Ontario only | $7,319 |
| 2 | Bachelor of Science in NursingMacEwan, Alberta | Competitive range high 80s to mid 90s (2025/26 and 2026/27 averages) | Ontario only | $8,250 |
| 3 | NursingQueen's, Ontario | Low 90s | 93.3% | $6,205 |
| 4 | Nursing (Direct Entry BScN)Western, Ontario | High 80s to low 90s | 92.6% | $6,171 |
| 5 | NursingUCalgary, Alberta | Average that secured an offer in Fall 2025, Bachelor of Nursing: 91% | Ontario only | $7,772 |
| 6 | Honours Bachelor of Science in NursingOttawa, Ontario | 90% minimum (English program); 85% minimum (French program) | 88.2% | $6,210 |
| 7 | NursingTMU, Ontario · 2 tracks, all on TMU's page | Centennial College: 85-90% | 93.5% | Not published |
| 8 | Bachelor of Psychiatric Nursing (Edmonton)MacEwan, Alberta | Competitive range high 70s to high 80s (2025/26 and 2026/27 averages, Edmonton intake) | Ontario only | $9,000 |
| 9 | Bachelor of Psychiatric Nursing (Ponoka)MacEwan, Alberta | Competitive range high 70s to high 80s (2025/26 and 2026/27 averages, Ponoka intake) | Ontario only | $9,000 |
| 10 | Nursing: 4-Year Direct Entry NursingYork, Ontario | High-80s or higher | Not reported | $6,240 |
| 11 | NursingULethbridge, Alberta | Competitive: the last student admitted for Fall 2026 had 87.0% (85.3% for Fall 2025) | Ontario only | Not published |
| 12 | NursingBrock, Ontario | Expected cut-off: mid 80s | 89.3% | Not published |
| 13 | Nursing (BScN) with RN PrescribingCarleton, Ontario | 82-85% | Not reported | $6,202 |
| 14 | Nursing I (B.Sc.N.)McMaster, Ontario · 2 tracks, all on McMaster's page | Minimum overall average of 85% for consideration | Not reported | $6,043 |
| 15 | Nursing: CollaborativeOntario Tech, Ontario | Expected cut-off: 85 per cent; last year's cut-off: 85 per cent | Not reported | $6,223 |
| 16 | NursingMcGill, Quebec | Low 80s (top 6); low 80s (math and science courses) | Ontario only | $12,986 |
| 17 | NursingLakehead, Ontario | An admission average of at least 80% | Not reported | $6,104 |
| 18 | High School to Accelerated Bachelor of Nursing PathwayUNB, New Brunswick | Minimum 70% in each of the four required courses and a 75% average on the four | Ontario only | Not published |
| 19 | NursingLaurentian, Ontario | A minimum overall average of 75% in the 6 best grade 12 U/M courses | 84.3% | $6,120 |
| 20 | NursingUNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 75%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | $11,181 |
| 21 | NursingTrent, Ontario | Minimum 75% overall average | Not reported | $6,241 |
| 22 | Nursing (Saint John)UNB, New Brunswick | Minimum admission average 75%; meeting it does not guarantee admission | Ontario only | $11,181 |
| 23 | Bachelor of Science in Nursing (Collaborative), four-year optionMemorial, Newfoundland and Labrador | Competitive; aim for a Grade 11 average of 85% or higher in the six required courses; offers revoked if the six-course average falls below 70% | Ontario only | $6,750 |
| 24 | Northern Collaborative Baccalaureate Nursing Program (NCBNP)UNBC, British Columbia | Competitive entry, minimum 70% average | Ontario only | Not published |
| 25 | NursingDalhousie, Nova Scotia | Minimum overall average 70%; competitive, no published cut-off | Ontario only | $11,046 |
| 26 | NursingNipissing, Ontario | Minimum average for admission consideration: 70% | 91.7% | $6,240 |
| 27 | NursingUPEI, Prince Edward Island | Minimum overall average 70% with at least 65% in each required course; competitive (about 70 seats, PEI residents first) | Ontario only | $8,130 |
| 28 | NursingWindsor, Ontario | Minimum average 70% (top 6 Grade 12 U/M); mean average of entering students 91%; 85% recommended | Not reported | $5,916 |
| 29 | Nursing PrepUSask, Saskatchewan | Admission average: 70% (College of Arts and Science) | Ontario only | $8,449 |
| 30 | Science infirmièreMoncton, New Brunswick | Minimum average of 70% over the five admission courses (French at least 65%, the others at least 60%); meeting it does not guarantee a place in a limited program | Ontario only | $8,601 |
| 31 | Bachelor of Science (Pre-Nursing), leading to the Bachelor of NursingBrandon, Manitoba | Ontario high school graduation with a minimum 60% average on six Grade 12 U or M courses including English (ENG4U) | Ontario only | Not published |
| 32 | Bachelor of Science (Pre-Psychiatric Nursing), leading to the Bachelor of Science in Psychiatric NursingBrandon, Manitoba | Ontario high school graduation with a minimum 60% average on six Grade 12 U or M courses including English (ENG4U) | Ontario only | Not published |
| 33 | Bachelor of Science (Pre-Psychiatric Nursing), leading to the Bachelor of Science in Psychiatric Nursing (Winnipeg site)Brandon, Manitoba | Ontario high school graduation with a minimum 60% average on six Grade 12 U or M courses including English (ENG4U) | Ontario only | Not published |
| Bachelor of Science in NursingTRU, British Columbia | Selective and competitive; no admission average published | Ontario only | $5,613 | |
| NursingUBCO, British Columbia | No average published; 67% overall is the minimum to be considered | Ontario only | $6,201 | |
| Nursing (Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Science in Nursing)URegina, Saskatchewan | A minimum of 70% required in each prerequisite course. competitive entry program | Ontario only | $9,322 | |
| Nursing, Bilingual Option (SCBScN)URegina, Saskatchewan | A minimum of 70% required in each prerequisite course. competitive entry program | Ontario only | $9,322 |
What Grade 12 courses do you need for nursing?
Counted across the 37 nursing programs that list their courses. "Required" means the program names the course outright; "one of" means it appears in a choice.
| Course | Required by | One of a choice at |
|---|---|---|
| ENG4UEnglish | 86% of programs | 8% of programs |
| SBI4UBiology | 86% of programs | 3% of programs |
| SCH4UChemistry | 68% of programs | 14% of programs |
| MHF4UAdvanced Functions | 8% of programs | 51% of programs |
| MDM4UMathematics of Data Management | 3% of programs | 51% of programs |
| MCV4UCalculus and Vectors | 5% of programs | 41% of programs |
| EAE4UEnglish (EAE4U) | 11% of programs | 5% of programs |
| MCF3MGrade 11 course | 3% of programs | 16% of programs |
| MCR3UGrade 11 course | 3% of programs | 16% of programs |
| ETS4UStudies in Literature | 5% of programs | 5% of programs |
| FRA4UFrançais | 5% of programs | 5% of programs |
| SCH3UGrade 11 course | 8% of programs | None |
Picking Grade 12 courses? Keep every course in the top rows, and check the program pages above for the exact list and minimum marks. The finder checks your courses against every program.
What careers do nursing programs lead to?
- Registered NurseCare for patients in hospitals, clinics and homes. In demand everywhere in Canada.$90kTypical pay4 yearsTo qualifyVery highDemand
- Nurse PractitionerA nurse with a master's degree who can diagnose, order tests and prescribe. Two degrees, six figures, huge demand.$128kTypical pay8 to 9 yearsTo qualifyVery highDemand
- MidwifeDeliver babies and care for families through pregnancy and the weeks after. On call around the clock, and paid well for it.$97kTypical pay4 yearsTo qualifyModerateDemand
- AcupuncturistA 3-year diploma, a national exam, and a practice you build one patient at a time. Most acupuncturists are self-employed and many work part time.$33kTypical pay2 to 4 yearsTo qualifyGoodDemand
- Addictions CounsellorHelp people get out from under drugs, alcohol and gambling. A 2-year diploma gets you in; the work is heavy and the pay is middling.$71kTypical pay2 to 5 yearsTo qualifyGoodDemand
- Allergist and ImmunologistThe doctor for allergies, asthma, hives and immune system problems. About 13 years of training, then office hours and very few emergencies.$311kTypical pay12 to 14 yearsTo qualifyGoodDemand
Other fields in Canada
- Computer science
- Engineering
- Business
- Health sciences
- Life sciences
- Math and physics
- Social sciences
- Arts
- Education
- Fine arts
- Architecture
- Undecided
Or every university on its own page: the full list.