Careerhelp

Education (teaching): every university, ranked

General Studies (Education) at Simon Fraser University

BGS (Bachelor of General Studies) · Faculty of Education · Burnaby campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for SFU General Studies (Education)?

For an applicant from a high school in Ontario. SFU works out your average its own way; the finder does that for you.

The school says
Mid 80s
Length and co-op
Not stated
Co-op: Yes, optional

What courses do you need?

SFU's own list for Ontario high school applicants.

Required
  • ENG3U English (Grade 11)
  • MCF3M Functions and Applications or MCR3U Functions (Grade 11)
  • One of SBI3U Biology, SCH3U Chemistry, SVN3M Environmental Science or SPH3U Physics (Grade 11)
  • ENG4U English (minimum 70%)

Is there a supplementary application?

Extra steps beyond marks, with the school's deadlines. Miss a required one and the application is not considered.

Optional
Diverse Qualifications Admission profile and reference letter (optional; only if your grades do not show your full potential)Due 28 February 2027

How much does SFU General Studies (Education) cost?

For a student from Ontario (the out-of-province rate), at this year's prices.

Tuition, first year
$6,618
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$22,700 to $23,100
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$6,600 first year
Student fees
$1,100 to $1,400 first year
Residence and meals
$15,000 first yearFirst year

What do education graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for British Columbia bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$70,100
Five years after graduating
$77,300

What careers does SFU General Studies (Education) lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study education (teaching)?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
Indigenous Teacher Education Program (NITEP)UBC, British ColumbiaNo average published; 70% overall is the minimum to be considered$6,201
Teacher Education: Elementary CurriculumUVic, British ColumbiaEstimated admission average: minimum 90% (based on the required grade 12 courses)$6,544
Adult Learning with TechnologyOntario Tech, OntarioExpected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent$6,102
Aging and Learning in an Era of TechnologyOntario Tech, OntarioNo average published$6,102
Arts EducationURegina, Saskatchewan65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty$8,618
Baccalauréat en Arts et Éducation combinésUOF, OntarioMoyenne minimale exigee de 70% dans six cours de niveau 4U ou 4M$6,600
Baccalauréat en éducation française au secondaireURegina, Saskatchewan65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty$8,618
Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education (AD) 5-Year IntegratedBrandon, ManitobaOntario high school graduation with a minimum 60% average on six Grade 12 U or M courses including English (ENG4U)$4,737

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with Simon Fraser University. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.