Careerhelp

Education (teaching): every university, ranked

Kindergarten and Elementary Education at McGill University

B.Ed. (Bachelor of Education) · Faculty of Education · Montreal campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for McGill Kindergarten and Elementary Education?

For an applicant from a high school in Ontario. McGill works out your average its own way; the finder does that for you.

The school says
Low to mid 80s (top 6); low 80s (English or French courses)
Length and co-op
Not stated

Majors or options chosen later: Jewish Studies option (within the same B.Ed.).

What courses do you need?

McGill's own list for Ontario high school applicants.

One of
  • ENG4U English or FRA4U Francais (French as a first language)

Is there a supplementary application?

Extra steps beyond marks, with the school's deadlines. Miss a required one and the application is not considered.

Required
Judicial record verification (Faculty of Education rules for field placements)
Required
Self-report Grade 11 and 12 marks in the McGill Applicant Portal (first period 1 February to 1 March optional; second period 1 April to 15 May mandatory)Due 15 May

How much does McGill Kindergarten and Elementary Education cost?

For a student from Ontario (the out-of-province rate), at this year's prices.

Tuition, first year
$12,986
$3,118 for students from Quebec
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$32,500 to $33,400
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$13,000 first year
Student fees
$2,200 to $3,100 first year
Residence and meals
$17,300 first yearFirst year

What do education graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for Quebec bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$63,500
Five years after graduating
$68,200

What careers does McGill Kindergarten and Elementary Education lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study education (teaching)?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
Early Childhood and Elementary EducationConcordia, QuebecHigh school: B (Ontario 73 to 76% on Concordia's scale)$12,986
Teaching and Learning at the Elementary LevelBishop's, QuebecEstimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs)$9,730
Teaching and Learning at the Secondary Level: English ProfileBishop's, QuebecEstimated minimum admission average: 80% (all programs)$9,730
Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL)Concordia, QuebecHigh school: B- (Ontario 70 to 72% on Concordia's scale)$12,986
Adult Learning with TechnologyOntario Tech, OntarioExpected cut-off: Low-70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent$6,102
Aging and Learning in an Era of TechnologyOntario Tech, OntarioNo average published$6,102
Arts EducationURegina, Saskatchewan65% average required. All programs are competitive entry, and final decision is made at the discretion of the faculty$8,618
Baccalauréat en Arts et Éducation combinésUOF, OntarioMoyenne minimale exigee de 70% dans six cours de niveau 4U ou 4M$6,600

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with McGill University. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.