Careerhelp

Fine and performing arts: every university, ranked

Fine Arts at Nipissing University

BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) Honours, or BA (Bachelor of Arts) in Fine Arts · Faculty of Arts and Science · North Bay campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for Nipissing Fine Arts?

The school says
Minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
A minimum, not a typical admitted average
Entering average in this program group
89.3%
Fine and applied arts at Nipissing, first-year students from Ontario high schools, fall 2022; 25% came in at 90 or above. Official figure (Common University Data Ontario) for the whole group, not only this program.
Length and co-op
Not stated
Co-op: No

Majors or options chosen later: BFA Honours Specialization, BA Specialization in Fine Arts, BA Major in Fine Arts with a Studio Arts stream, Concurrent Education option.

What courses do you need?

Grade 12 courses the school requires, as its page lists them.

Required
  • ENG4U English

What else each course keeps open: ENG4U

Is there a supplementary application?

Extra steps beyond marks, with the school's deadlines. Miss a required one and the application is not considered.

Required
BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) Portfolio Assessment (after admission, the year before the final year)

How much does Nipissing Fine Arts cost?

For a student from Ontario, at this year's prices. Food after first year, transit and personal spending are left out.

Tuition, first year
$6,138
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$15,700
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$6,100 first year
Student fees
$1,300 first year
Residence and meals
$8,300 first yearFirst year

What do fine and performing arts graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$33,300
Five years after graduating
$49,300

What careers does Nipissing Fine Arts lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study fine and performing arts?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
AdvertisingOCAD U, OntarioMinimum overall average of 70%$8,082
Bachelor of Fine Arts in ActingOttawa, Ontario75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program)$6,210
Bachelor of Fine Arts: BFAOttawa, Ontario75% minimum (English program); 73% minimum (French program)$6,210
Bachelor of Music (BMus)Western, OntarioLow 80s$6,171
Creative TechnologiesYork, OntarioMid-70s or higher$6,240
Creative WritingOCAD U, OntarioMinimum overall average of 70%$6,170
DanceYork, OntarioMid-70s or higher$6,240
Drama in Education and Community with Concentration in Applied TheatreWindsor, OntarioMinimum average 70%; co-op minimum 80%; 70% minimum in English; mean average of entering students 83%$5,916

If you don't get in

Routes the data shows: like programs that ask for less, and college programs with a transfer agreement into this one.

Asks for less
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts at Brandon: Ontario high school graduation with a minimum 60% average on six Grade 12 U or M courses including English (ENG4U)
Transfer in from college

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with Nipissing University. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.