Careerhelp

Math and physical sciences: every university, ranked

Mathematics at Nipissing University

BA (Bachelor of Arts) or BSc (Bachelor of Science) in Mathematics · Faculty of Arts and Science · North Bay campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for Nipissing Mathematics?

The school says
Minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
A minimum, not a typical admitted average
Length and co-op
Not stated
Co-op: No

Majors or options chosen later: Honours Specialization, Specialization, Major, Pure Mathematics stream, Concurrent Education option with Honours Specialization.

What courses do you need?

Grade 12 courses the school requires, as its page lists them.

Required
  • ENG4U English
  • MCV4U Calculus and Vectors

What else each course keeps open: ENG4U, MCV4U

How much does Nipissing Mathematics cost?

For a student from Ontario, at this year's prices. Food after first year, transit and personal spending are left out.

Tuition, first year
$6,138
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$15,700
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$6,100 first year
Student fees
$1,300 first year
Residence and meals
$8,300 first yearFirst year

What do math and physical sciences graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$61,000
Five years after graduating
$84,200

What careers does Nipissing Mathematics lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study math and physical sciences?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
Actuarial ScienceYork, OntarioMid-70s or higher$6,240
Applied MathematicsYork, OntarioMid-70s or higher$6,240
Applied PhysicsCarleton, Ontario78%$6,188
AstrophysicsOntario Tech, OntarioExpected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent$6,102
Biological and Medical PhysicsGuelph, Ontario78-83%$6,213
Biological and Pharmaceutical ChemistryGuelph, Ontario78-83%$6,213
BiophysicsBrock, OntarioExpected cut-off: mid 70s$6,211
Chemical and Physical SciencesToronto, OntarioMid to high 70s$6,100

If you don't get in

Routes the data shows: like programs that ask for less, and college programs with a transfer agreement into this one.

Asks for less
  • Mathematics at ULethbridge: General admission minimum: 65% average on five Grade 12 courses (no competitive average published)

Where these numbers come from

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.