Universities in California
24 California universities, most selective first, each on its own page. Public schools charge California residents the in-state rate shown here; the price after grants is what students with federal aid actually paid.
How hard is it to get into a California university, and what does it cost?
Acceptance rate and the middle half of admitted students' SAT scores, fall 2024, from the College Scorecard. Pay is for everyone who started with federal aid, ten years after starting.
| University | Acceptance rate | SAT, middle half | Tuition, in state | Out of state | Price after grants | Pay, ten years on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California Institute of TechnologyPasadena · Private | 3% | Not reported | $68,208 | Same | $8,509 | $166,642 |
| Stanford UniversityStanford · Private | 4% | 1510 to 1580 | $68,544 | Same | $12,307 | $125,340 |
| Pomona CollegeClaremont · Private | 7% | 1490 to 1560 | $68,670 | Same | $18,978 | $84,281 |
| University of California, Los AngelesLos Angeles · Public | 9% | Not reported | $15,729 | $53,331 | $14,659 | $88,581 |
| Claremont McKenna CollegeClaremont · Private | 10% | 1470 to 1560 | $72,120 | Same | $26,039 | $127,532 |
| University of Southern CaliforniaLos Angeles · Private | 10% | 1450 to 1550 | $75,162 | Same | $33,056 | $103,420 |
| University of California, BerkeleyBerkeley · Public | 11% | Not reported | $17,198 | $54,800 | $14,538 | $100,212 |
| Harvey Mudd CollegeClaremont · Private | 13% | 1500 to 1570 | $73,100 | Same | $39,347 | $164,248 |
| University of California San DiegoLa Jolla · Public | 27% | Not reported | $17,337 | $54,939 | $14,794 | $96,197 |
| University of California, IrvineIrvine · Public | 29% | Not reported | $16,235 | $53,837 | $13,866 | $83,432 |
| California Polytechnic State University, San Luis ObispoSan Luis Obispo · Public | 31% | Not reported | $15,039 | $37,005 | $18,832 | $96,304 |
| UC Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara · Public | 33% | Not reported | $16,989 | $54,591 | $16,807 | $82,568 |
| San Diego State UniversitySan Diego · Public | 36% | Not reported | $9,180 | $25,500 | $13,243 | $73,494 |
| University of California, DavisDavis · Public | 42% | Not reported | $17,346 | $54,948 | $14,318 | $86,999 |
| Loyola Marymount UniversityLos Angeles · Private | 45% | 1260 to 1430 | $65,857 | Same | $50,518 | $86,034 |
| California State University, Long BeachLong Beach · Public | 46% | Not reported | $8,338 | $21,658 | $9,426 | $69,554 |
| Santa Clara UniversitySanta Clara · Private | 48% | 1350 to 1490 | $63,513 | Same | $50,570 | $117,193 |
| University of San DiegoSan Diego · Private | 52% | Not reported | $62,420 | Same | $29,539 | $93,069 |
| Pepperdine UniversityMalibu · Private | 63% | 1290 to 1450 | $72,672 | Same | $48,065 | $89,410 |
| Chapman UniversityOrange · Private | 65% | 1260 to 1440 | $67,894 | Same | $46,708 | $80,694 |
| University of California, Santa CruzSanta Cruz · Public | 66% | Not reported | $16,585 | $54,187 | $18,549 | $73,362 |
| University of California, RiversideRiverside · Public | 76% | Not reported | $16,103 | $53,705 | $12,672 | $72,974 |
| San José State UniversitySan Jose · Public | 85% | Not reported | $8,846 | $22,166 | $14,241 | $83,493 |
| California State University, FullertonFullerton · Public | 91% | Not reported | $7,952 | $21,272 | $5,115 | $69,015 |
Other states, and your score
- Alabama
- Colorado
- District of Columbia
- Florida
- Georgia
- Iowa
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Louisiana
- Massachusetts
- Maryland
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Missouri
- Mississippi
- North Carolina
- New Jersey
- New York
- Ohio
- Pennsylvania
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Virginia
- Washington
Colleges for your score: 1000 SAT, 1100 SAT, 1200 SAT, 1300 SAT, 1400 SAT, 1500 SAT. Or every university, by state.