Careerhelp

Engineering: every university, ranked

Sustainable Energy Engineering at Simon Fraser University

BASc (Bachelor of Applied Science) · Faculty of Applied Sciences · Surrey campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for SFU Sustainable Energy Engineering?

For an applicant from a high school in Ontario. SFU works out your average its own way; the finder does that for you.

The school says
Mid 80s
Length and co-op
Not stated
Co-op: Yes, required, 3 work terms

What courses do you need?

SFU's own list for Ontario high school applicants.

Required
  • ENG3U English (Grade 11)
  • MCF3M Functions and Applications or MCR3U Functions (Grade 11)
  • One of SBI3U Biology, SCH3U Chemistry, SVN3M Environmental Science or SPH3U Physics (Grade 11)
  • ENG4U English (minimum 70%)
  • MHF4U Advanced Functions (minimum 70%)
  • SCH4U Chemistry (minimum 70%)
  • SPH4U Physics (minimum 70%)
Recommended
  • MCV4U Calculus and Vectors

Is there a supplementary application?

Extra steps beyond marks, with the school's deadlines. Miss a required one and the application is not considered.

Optional
Diverse Qualifications Admission profile and reference letter (optional; only if your grades do not show your full potential)Due 28 February 2027

How much does SFU Sustainable Energy Engineering cost?

For a student from Ontario (the out-of-province rate), at this year's prices.

Tuition, first year
$6,618
Goes up to $7,280 from year 2
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$22,700 to $23,100
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$6,600 first yearGoes up in later years
Student fees
$1,100 to $1,400 first year
Residence and meals
$15,000 first yearFirst year

What do engineering graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for British Columbia bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$81,700
Five years after graduating
$98,300

What careers does SFU Sustainable Energy Engineering lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study engineering?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
Applied Science (Engineering)UBC, British ColumbiaNo average published; 70% overall is the minimum to be considered$7,648
Applied Science (Engineering)UBCO, British ColumbiaNo average published; 67% overall is the minimum to be considered$7,441
Bachelor of Engineering in Computer EngineeringTRU, British ColumbiaSelective and competitive; no admission average published$5,944
Bachelor of Engineering in Software EngineeringTRU, British ColumbiaSelective and competitive; no admission average published$5,944
Civil EngineeringUNBC, British ColumbiaCompetitive entry, minimum 75% average$8,100
Engineering and Computer Science LaunchPadUVic, British ColumbiaEstimated admission average: minimum 82% (based on the required grade 12 courses)$7,240
Engineering: Year 1 entryUVic, British ColumbiaEstimated admission average: minimum 85% (based on the required grade 12 courses)$7,240
Environmental Engineering (4-year UNBC stream)UNBC, British ColumbiaCompetitive entry, minimum 75% average$8,100

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with Simon Fraser University. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.