Careerhelp

Police, fire and public safety: every college, ranked

Firefighter: Pre-Service Education and Training (compressed) at Durham College

Ontario College Certificate · Faculty of Social and Community Services (SCS) · Oshawa Campus (Oshawa) campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What do you need to get into Durham Firefighter: Pre-Service Education and Training (compressed)?

The school says
Meet the course requirements
Length
Not stated

What courses do you need?

As the college's page lists them. A U (university preparation) course counts where a C (college preparation) course is asked for.

Required
  • Grade 12 English (C or U)
  • Grade 11 mathematics (C, M or U)
  • And One of the following sciences:
  • Grade 11 or 12 biology (C, M or U)
  • Grade 11 or 12 chemistry (C, M or U)
  • Grade 11 or 12 physics (C, M or U)
  • Grade 11 or 12 exercise science (C, M or U)

How much does Durham Firefighter: Pre-Service Education and Training (compressed) cost?

For a student from Ontario, at this year's prices. Food after first year, transit and personal spending are left out.

Tuition, first year
$14,793
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$16,600
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies, residence
Whole program, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$14,800 first year
Student fees
$1,800 first year

What do graduates earn, and are they working?

Pay is what Ontario college certificate graduates in security and protective services earned, the class of 2019 (2021 and 2024), from Statistics Canada, in 2024 dollars. It is for the whole field across Ontario, not this college alone, and Statistics Canada's field is a little wider than this program's.

Two years after graduating
$48,600
Five years after graduating
$64,900

What careers does Durham Firefighter: Pre-Service Education and Training (compressed) lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study police, fire and public safety?

The same field at other colleges, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
911 & Emergency Services CommunicationsSeneca, OntarioMeet the course requirementsNot published
911 and Public Safety CommunicationsFanshawe, OntarioCompetitive, no average published$2,646
911 and Public Safety CommunicationsLoyalist, OntarioMeet the course requirements$2,777
Aviation SafetySeneca, OntarioMeet the course requirementsNot published
Bachelor of Community and Criminal Justice (Honours)Conestoga, Ontario65% minimum average$6,747
Bachelor of PolicingConestoga, Ontario65% minimum average$6,241
Bachelor of Public Safety (Honours) (Co-op)Algonquin, Ontario65% minimum average$6,816
Border Security and InvestigationsLoyalist, OntarioMeet the course requirements$2,777

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with Durham College. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.