Careerhelp

Life sciences: every university, ranked

Biology at Algoma University

BSc (Bachelor of Science) in Biology · Cameron Faculty of Science (Department of Biology) · Sault Ste. Marie campus

Counsellors: add notes to this page for a student

What average do you need for Algoma Biology?

The school says
Min. Avg. 75%
A minimum, not a typical admitted average
Length and co-op
Not stated
Co-op: Yes, optional, 3 work terms

Majors or options chosen later: Specialization in Health Sciences (optional, 30 credits).

What courses do you need?

Grade 12 courses the school requires, as its page lists them.

Required
  • ENG4U English
  • MHF4U Advanced Functions
  • Two Grade 12 U/M Sciences
Recommended
  • SBI4U Biology
  • SCH4U Chemistry

What else each course keeps open: ENG4U, MHF4U, SBI4U, SCH4U

How much does Algoma Biology cost?

For a student from Ontario, at this year's prices. Food after first year, transit and personal spending are left out.

Tuition, first year
$5,982
Books and supplies
Not published
School's estimate
First year, all in
$16,100
Tuition, fees, books, residence and meals; not counted: books and supplies
Whole degree, all in
Not published
Length not stated
Tuition
$6,000 first year
Student fees
$1,000 first year
Residence and meals
$9,200 first yearFirst year

What do life sciences graduates earn?

Statistics Canada publishes pay by field for each province's graduates, not by school. Figures are for Ontario bachelor's graduates, the class of 2022 two years after and the class of 2019 five years after, in 2024 dollars.

Two years after graduating
$43,000
Five years after graduating
$71,300

What careers does Algoma Biology lead to?

Careers people reach through this field, each with its pay, training and what the work is like.

Where else can you study life sciences?

The same field at other universities, with what each says it takes.

ProgramSchool saysTuition
Animal BiologyGuelph, Ontario86-92%$6,213
Animal BiologyWindsor, OntarioMinimum average 70% on all attempted science and math courses; mean average of entering students 86%$6,091
Applied BiotechnologyOntario Tech, OntarioExpected cut-off: low 70s; last year's cut-off: 70 per cent$6,102
Applied Grape and Wine ScienceBrock, OntarioExpected cut-off: mid 70s$6,211
Applied Life SciencesLakehead, OntarioA minimum 70% overall final average$6,104
Aquatic BiologyWindsor, OntarioMinimum average 70% on all attempted science and math courses; mean average of entering students 86%$6,091
Bachelor of Arts & Science/Medical Sciences: Trent/Swansea Dual DegreeTrent, OntarioMinimum 80% overall average$6,241
Bachelor of Science in AgricultureGuelph, Ontario75-80%$6,213

If you don't get in

Routes the data shows: like programs that ask for less, and college programs with a transfer agreement into this one.

Asks for less
  • Biology at Lakehead: A minimum 70% overall final average
  • Biology at Laurentian: A minimum overall average of 70% in the 6 best grade 12 U/M courses
  • Biology at Nipissing: Minimum average for admission consideration: 70%
Transfer in from college

Where these numbers come from

How every figure in this part of the site is sourced, and the check of every link.

Careerhelp is not affiliated with Algoma University. Requirements and averages change every year: check the school's page before you apply.

Spot a mistake, or like something?

Tell us about this page. A person reads every message.

No email app on this device? Use Gmail instead: report a mistake in Gmail or say what you like in Gmail.